Skip to content

Data Portal

Explore and download the Museum’s research and collections data.

Henry Buckley Collection of Planktonic Foraminifera

The Henry Buckley Collection of Planktonic Foraminifera at the Natural History Museum in London (NHMUK) consists of 1,665 single-taxon slides housing almost 24,000 individuals from 203 sites from all the major ocean basins, as well as a vast research library of Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM) photomicrographs. Buckley picked the material from the NHMUK Ocean-Bottom Deposit Collection and also from fresh tow samples. However, his collection remains largely unused as he was discouraged by his managers in the Mineralogy Department from working on or publicising the collection. Nevertheless, Buckley published pioneering papers on isotopic interpretation of oceanographic and climatic change and was one of the first workers to investigate foraminiferal wall structure using the SEM technique. Details of the collection and images of each slide are available via the NHMUK Data Portal ( The Buckley Collection and its associated Ocean-Bottom Deposit Collection have great potential for taxon-specific studies as well as geochemical studies, and are available on request.

Related materials:

Marina C. Rillo, John Whittaker, Thomas H. G. Ezard, Andy Purvis, Andrew S. Henderson, Stephen Stukins, C. Giles Miller, The unknown planktonic foraminiferal pioneer Henry A. Buckley and his collection at The Natural History Museum, London. Journal of Micropalaeontology, 36(2), 191-194. doi:

Data and Resources

Cite this as

Marina Costa Rillo (2016). Henry Buckley Collection of Planktonic Foraminifera [Data set]. Natural History Museum.
Retrieved: 02:13 23 Sep 2023 (UTC) BibTeX

Additional Info

Field Value
Affiliation Natural History Museum
Primary contributors
Costa Rillo, Marina ( 0000-0002-2471-0002)
Other contributors
Temporal extent 1872-1985
Last updated April 30, 2019
Last resource update April 30, 2019 (Henry Buckley Collection of Planktonic Foraminifera)
Created August 23, 2016
License Creative Commons Attribution